MuskogeePhoenix.com, Muskogee, OK

Features

January 9, 2013

Shop to dispel winter garden blues

Catalogs and online shopping are the way gardeners make it through the winter months, so each year, my column features dozens of print and online resources. Some years it has been only seed companies. This year’s list includes Internet based retailers that sell seed, plants, tubers, chickens and everything else gardeners need in order to dream, to plan and succeed.

With few exceptions, most companies sell items other than seeds. A few sell only seed they grow themselves or contractors grow for them. Look for open pollinated varieties if you want to avoid GMOs.

Disease and insect resistant varieties are widely available from the larger companies. Seeds that are coated with clay making tiny seeds easier to plant are called pelletted. Look for those in catalogs such as Johnny’s Selected Seeds.

Printed paper catalogs are few and far between as everyone is using less paper and wants to save money. Most seed sellers offer an online newsletter, write a growing tips blog, or email out materials to subscribers. If you provide an email address, many will contact you when their seeds go on sale.

Enjoy the pictures, and savor the vegetable, herb and flower descriptions at these stores:

• Amishland Heirloom Seeds, www.amishlandseeds.com (grows her own seed).

• Artistic Gardens, www.artisticgardens.com, (802) 748-1446 (35 cent packets).

• B and T World Seeds, http://b-and-t-world-seeds.com, master list of 34,000 catalogs including roof garden seeds, Shady Condition seed list, terrarium seeds, 5,000 food plants, etc.

• Baker Creek, http://rareseeds.com, (417) 924-8917.

• Botanical Interest, www.botanicalinterests.com.

• Bountiful Gardens, www.bountifulgardens.org, (707) 459-6410.

• Brent and Becky’s Bulbs, www.brentandbeckysbulbs.com (bulbs and perennial flowers).

• Burpee, www.burpee.com, (800) 888-1447 (free print catalog).

• Bustani Plant Farm, www.bustaniplantfarm.com, (405) 372-3379 (OK grown plants).

• Chiltern Seeds, www.chilternseeds.co.uk.

• Conserving Arkansas Agricultural Heritage seeds are given to gardeners who agree to return seed to the seed bank. Swap calendar is at http://arkansasagro.wordpress.com.

• Cook’s Garden seeds, www.cooksgarden.com, (800) 457-9703.

• Diane’s Flower Seeds, www.dianeseeds.com.

• Ethnobotanical Catalog of Seeds, www.JLHudsonSeeds.net.

• Fedco Coop seeds and tubers, www.fedcoseeds.com, (207) 873-7333.

• Garden Medicinals and Culinaries, www.gardenmedicinals.com, (540) 872-8351.

• Gourmet Seed International, www.gourmetseed.com, (575) 398-6111.

• Granny’s Heirloom Seeds, Bolivar, Mo., www.grannysheirloomseeds.com.

• Heirloom Acres Seeds, New Bloomfield Mo., (573) 491-3001 and www.heirloomacresseeds.com.

• High Mowing organic seeds, www.highmowingseeds.com, (802) 472-6174.

• Hometown Seeds, http://hometownseeds.com, (888) 433-3106.

• Johnny’s Selected Seeds, www.johnnyseeds.com, (877) 564-6697.

• Kitazawa Seed, www.kitazawaseed.com , (510) 595-1188 (Asian vegetables and herbs).

• Landis Valley Museum, www.landisvalleymuseum.org, (717) 569-0401, German settler varieties.

• L’Atelier Vert - Everything French Gardening, www.frenchgardening.com.

• Lost Creek Shitake Mushroom Farm, http://shiitakemushroomlog.com, (800) 792-0053.

• Native Seeds, Southwest Endangered Aridlands Resource Clearing House, www.nativeseed.org.

• Nichols Garden Nursery, www.nicholsgardennursery.com, (800) 422-3985 (seeds and roots).

• Old House Gardens, www.oldhousegardens.com (plants and bulbs).

• Onalee Seeds, www.onalee.com (detailed seed packs).

• Ozark Seed Bank www.onegarden.org, (417) 679-1003 (receives and offers donated seed from members).

• Park Seeds, www.parkseed.com, (800) 845-3369 (free print catalog).

• Plant Delights www.plantdelights.com, (919) 772-4794 (ornamental perennials).

• Pine Ridge Gardens, www.pineridgegardens.com, (501) 293-4359 (Arkansas and Oklahoma native plants).

• Pinetree Garden Seeds, www.superseeds.com, (207) 926-3400 (free print catalog).

• Renee’s Garden Seeds, http://reneesgarden.com — great seed packets.

• Richters Herbs Canada, www.richters.com, (800) 668-4372.

• Sample Seed Shop. http://sampleseeds.com, (716) 871-1137 (small packets).

• Sand Hill Preservation Center, www.sandhillpreservation.com, (563) 246-2299 (heirloom poultry and seeds).

• Seed Savers Exchange, www.Seedsavers.org, (563) 382-5990 (Join for the best deals).

• Seeds from Italy, www.growitalian.com, (785) 748-0959 (generous packs).

• Seeds of Change, www.seedsofchange.com, (888) 762-7333.

• Select Seeds, www.selectseeds.com, (800) 684-0395.

• Sky Fire Garden, www.skyfiregardenseeds.com ($2 packs).

• Sooner Plant Farm, www.soonerplantfarm.com, (918) 453-0771 (Greenleaf Nursery plants).

• Southern Exposure Seed Exchange, www.southernexposure.com, (540) 894-9480 (free print catalog).

• Territorial Seed, www.territorialseed.com, (800) 626-0866.

• Thompson and Morgan, www.tmseeds.com, (800) 274-7333 (free paper catalog).

• Thyme Garden Herbs, www.thymegarden.com, (541) 487-8671.

• Tomato Bob Heirloom Tomatoes, www.tomatobob.com (free paper catalog).

• Vermont Bean Seed Co, www.vermontbean.com, (800) 349-1071.

• Whatcom Seed Co, www.seedrack.com, (palms, bonsai).

• White Flower Farm, www.whiteflowerfarm.com, (800) 503-9624.

• Wild Things Nursery, www.wildthingsnursery.com (Oklahoma native plants).

• White Harvest Seed, www.whiteharvestseed.com, (866) 424-3185 (survival packets).

Need more? Go to www.gardenlist.com for a list of lists!

1
Text Only
Features
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Poll

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

Yes
No
     View Results
Featured Ads
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Stocks