MuskogeePhoenix.com, Muskogee, OK

Fort Gibson

December 12, 2012

What’s New at the “Q”? 12.12.12



Christmas is less than two weeks away. We hope you are enjoying the season. If the hustle and bustle gets to be too much, stop by the library and relax with a good book.

Dec. 19 will be a Christmas party during story time. If you have not attended before, you are welcome to come to this special story time. Story time is for infants as well as preschool age children. Even the youngest children who attend are hearing words and sounds that create important connections in their brains as they develop. Younger children often enjoy watching the older kids as the sing and dance.

From 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. Dec. 20, Judy will do Christmas crafts with school age kids.

We also have many new books at the library including Christmas books to read to your children. Fans of Jane Yolen and Mark Teague’s dinosaur books will enjoy “How Do Dinosaurs Say Merry Christmas?”

Judy Barrett, author of “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs,” has written a new Christmas story about how a little boy named Santa grew up to be the real thing in her new book, “Santa from Cincinnati.”

“Smudge and the Book of Mistakes: A Christmas Story” by Gloria Whelan and beautifully illustrated by Stephan Costanza is the story of a young boy who learns from his mistakes and learns not to give up when he makes a mistake.

Q.B. Boydstun Librarians would like to quote the words of Clement C. Moore, “Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good-night!” to all of our Fort Gibson community members.

More programs are in the works, so watch for more information. There’s always something new at the “Q”!

For more information, visit the Q.B. Boydstun Library at 201 E. South Ave., call (918) 478-3587 or see the library’s website at http://www.eodls.lib.ok.us/ft_gibson.html.

Q.B. Boydstun Library hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday; 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

1
Text Only
Fort Gibson
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Poll

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

Yes
No
     View Results
Featured Ads
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Stocks