MuskogeePhoenix.com, Muskogee, OK

Fort Gibson

December 12, 2012

What’s New at the “Q”? 12.12.12



Christmas is less than two weeks away. We hope you are enjoying the season. If the hustle and bustle gets to be too much, stop by the library and relax with a good book.

Dec. 19 will be a Christmas party during story time. If you have not attended before, you are welcome to come to this special story time. Story time is for infants as well as preschool age children. Even the youngest children who attend are hearing words and sounds that create important connections in their brains as they develop. Younger children often enjoy watching the older kids as the sing and dance.

From 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. Dec. 20, Judy will do Christmas crafts with school age kids.

We also have many new books at the library including Christmas books to read to your children. Fans of Jane Yolen and Mark Teague’s dinosaur books will enjoy “How Do Dinosaurs Say Merry Christmas?”

Judy Barrett, author of “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs,” has written a new Christmas story about how a little boy named Santa grew up to be the real thing in her new book, “Santa from Cincinnati.”

“Smudge and the Book of Mistakes: A Christmas Story” by Gloria Whelan and beautifully illustrated by Stephan Costanza is the story of a young boy who learns from his mistakes and learns not to give up when he makes a mistake.

Q.B. Boydstun Librarians would like to quote the words of Clement C. Moore, “Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good-night!” to all of our Fort Gibson community members.

More programs are in the works, so watch for more information. There’s always something new at the “Q”!

For more information, visit the Q.B. Boydstun Library at 201 E. South Ave., call (918) 478-3587 or see the library’s website at http://www.eodls.lib.ok.us/ft_gibson.html.

Q.B. Boydstun Library hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday; 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

1
Text Only
Fort Gibson
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Poll

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

Yes
No
     View Results
Featured Ads
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Stocks