, Muskogee, OK

December 24, 2013

2013 was another great year for Chamber

By Gary Perkins
Chamber Notes

— On behalf of the Fort Gibson Chamber of Commerce, its Board of Directors and myself, we want to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a most joyous and blessed New Year.

It has been another great year for the chamber, as all of our events were successful and succeeded in bringing many thousands of visitors to our community. The chamber’s annual events include our annual banquet coming up in February; a golf tournament in May; our Car, Truck, & Motorcycle Show in June; the Fourth of July Fireworks Show in July; our 10K, 5K, and Mile Run in August; the very successful Smokin’ the Fort BBQ & Bluegrass Festival in October; and our Starlight Christmas Parade in December.

In addition to these events, we participate in Spring Fling for a Cause 5K Run in April and any other town event that we are asked to participate in. We also sponsor the Fort Gibson Christmas Ornament program that is in its sixth year and has proven to be very successful and well received. In conjunction with the Town of Fort Gibson, the Historic Site, the National Cemetery, and other groups and clubs, it is our goal to see a major event going on every month within our town. That not only gives our community recognition, it gives the residents something to be proud of and participate in. We have such a heritage that it is a shame not to bring to the attention of others, by remembering the past, and embracing the future.

This past week, we held our monthly Board of Director’s meeting, in which we elected a new Board and officers for 2014. 

The Board for 2013 consisted of Steve Woods, Justin Calvert, Justin Young, Tonia Cooper, Lisa Clayton, Cheryl Hill, David Perry, Will Crawford, and Mark Young, with Kathy Carson, Kathy Perkins, Denise Bain, Al Stevens, Linda Clinkenbeard, and Tim Smith serving as associate Board members.

Board members can serve for two concurrent, two-year terms, after which they must be off the board for at least a year.  Associate Board members have no restrictions, give valuable input, but are not able to vote on official chamber matters.

For 2014, the following changes were voted on, pending ratification by the general chamber membership: Justin Young, re-elected to a second term; Tonia Cooper, re-elected to a second term; Will Crawford, re-elected to a second term; with continuing members Steve Woods, Cheryl Hill, Lisa Clayton, David Perry, and Mark Young. Justin Calvert from Armstrong Bank has made the decision to step off the board since his job has taken him out of the Fort Gibson branch. In his place, the nomination was made to add Melinda Williams, manager of the Armstrong Bank branch here in Fort Gibson, as a new Board member.

For associate Board members, the following remained: Kathy Carson, Kathy Perkins, Denise Bain, Linda Clinkenbeard, and Tim Smith, with Justin Calvert being added as an associate Board member. Nominated for Board president for 2014 was Justin Young, with David Perry as vice president, and Tonia Cooper, as secretary/treasurer. Again, all these nominations are pending ratification from the general chamber membership, which will be done with the annual membership renewals that are going out in the mail later this month. The new Board of Directors, and the new officers for 2014 will be recognized at our annual banquet scheduled for Feb. 6 at Three Forks Harbor.

Come join us for our Weekly Chamber Luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Thursday at Charlie’s Chicken, here in Fort Gibson. For the month of January, we will meet at 11:30 a.m. each Thursday at the Courtyard Bistro. Come join us.