, Muskogee, OK

February 23, 2013

One Rougher among four area boys in title matches

Phoenix staff report

— Muskogee High’s Jacobe Smith is still perfect vs. Oklahoma, and now needs to keep that up for one more match to stay that way.

Smith decisioned Paden Bailey of Broken Arrow 3-0 in Friday’s semifinals and will face Bartlesville’s Michael Hamilton in the Class 6A 152-pound title match on Saturday at State Fair Arena.

Earlier in the day, Smith, a junior, pinned Aaron Avra of Sapulpa in three minutes, 26 seconds. He’ll be the lone Rougher in the finals. Dawaylon Barnes lost 9-2 to Sapulpa’s Shea Conley in a 130-pound semifinal and Nigel Harris was pinned in 1:09 by Andrew Dixon of Edmond North at 220. It was a good day for Dixon’s team, which is 34 points up on Broken Arrow with 90.5 points. Muskogee is eighth with 25 points.

The first round didn’t go well for five Roughers. Chase Soper at 120, Matt Acee at 126, J.T. Andrews at 160, James Buckhanan at 170 and Elijah Petty at 285 all lost their opening matches. Acee, Andrews and Pettey all won their first consolation match to remain alive for a medal.

Tahlequah had  three wrestlers, including a couple of sophomores make the 5A semifinals but their run at a championship ended there. Paul Sargent dropped a major decision to Ryan Heiden of Collinsville and the Tigers’ Reese Davis was pinned in 4:28 by Brok Williams of Lawton MacArthur. Junior Hestin Lamons, the elder statesman of the group, lost 3-2 to Bryan Dutton of Guthrie.

In Class 4A, Fort Gibson’s Andrew Brestel made good in his first state trip. He’ll be in the finals following a pin of Bristow’s Tyler Dawson in 1:09 after edging Clinton’s Nick Barron 2-1. The Tiger senior will battle Tuttle’s Nathan Jackson for the gold today, and he’ll be the only area wrestler to do so in 4A.

Brestel’s teammate Nick Bailey at 220 along with Wagoner’s Derek Marshall lost at that weight. Two other Bulldogs lost their semifinal matches, Roman Rodriguez  at 182 and Trent Miller at 132.

In Class 2A, Vian will have two in the finals. Rowdy Simon decisioned Garrett Beier of Perry 5--1 after pinning Jeremy Smith of Little Axe and will face Finn Higgins of Heritage Hall in the 182 finals. Tre Locust pinned Wyatt Jones of Sulphur in 1:00 at 220 and will face Mike Baker of Locust Grove in the title match. Cale Mays lost his semifinal at 195 where two locals had a chance to meet for the championship. Hulbert’s Bryson McGown lost a major decision to Caleb Hawes.

Vian’s Landon Decker at 160 won’t be a repeat champion after dropping a first-round decision but bounced back to win in consolations.

Matches resume today with consolation finals at 12:45 p.m. and the finals get under way at 5:45 p.m.