, Muskogee, OK

Local News

April 7, 2013

NSU to honor students

— TAHLEQUAH — Area students will be honored at Northeastern State University’s 45th Annual Honors Assembly on April 19.

Awards are presented to students who have demonstrated academic and social excellence, not only in their academic colleges, departments, and disciplines, but also in the overall university program. The purpose of these awards is to encourage excellence.

More than 400 NSU students will receive certificates to acknowledge their achievements in one or more of the following categories:

• Student Activity Award. Achievement in a non-academic activity. The sponsor of every NSU student organization and activity is asked to select the most outstanding student to receive this award.

• Academic Achieve-ment Award. Achieve-ment within each academic discipline. One student from each academic discipline is selected to receive these awards.

• Honors Society Award. Achievement in the overall university program. Students who receive Honors Society Awards have achieved high grade point averages, while also participating in at least two university organizations and/or activities.

• Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities.

Area award recipients are:

Academic Achievement Award

Tahlequah — Stephanie Bolen, Matheus Baldo, Emily Ball, Joseph Barger, Devin Basinger.

Brenda Branham, Kelli Cackler, Ashley Carden, Jaime Christensen, John Coker, Douglas Cotter, Lesley Dodson, Elizabeth Fieser, Tonya Garrett, Misty Grady, Caley Janzen, Kameron Johnson, Pamela Martin, Ashley Medlock, Haylee Miller, Lauren Neisler, Megan Nelson, James Parker, Matt Ross, Feather Smith-Trevino, Darci Voigt, and Jared Wallis.

Bixby — Miranda Caughron.

Broken Arrow — Nathan Harris and Mark McMullen.

Catoosa — Darin Cousens.

Coweta — Christine Hellard and Mindy Thompson.

Fort Gibson — Michael Reed, Ashley Stoddard, and Delaney Tusia.

Gans — Joseph Farrell.

Henryetta — Vernon Long.

Inola — Kenneth Hindenburg, Evan Hobbs, and Ryan Beck.

Locust Grove — Angela Snyman.

Muldrow — Tamara Smith-Allen.

Muskogee — Sarah Fletcher, Benjamin Pemberton, Brent Roberts, and Jamie Thomas.

Sallisaw — Sydney Neri.

Tahlequah — Molly Turner.

Wagoner — Curtis Roberts.

Webbers Falls — Sharon Cole.

Text Only
Local News
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

     View Results
Featured Ads

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.