, Muskogee, OK

January 10, 2013

January is School Board Recognition Month

— Oklahoma’s State School Board Association is celebrating School Board Recognition Month in January to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society, according to a media release.

School Board Recognition Month recognizes the members of Oklahoma’s 500-plus common school boards of education and 39 area career technology boards of education for their commitment to providing quality public school education in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma benefits from hours devoted by these volunteers. More than 2,700 men and women are elected by their local communities and receive little or no compensation for the hours they spend at meetings and going over reports and agendas.

The Fort Gibson Public School District is joining with other districts throughout the state to recognize the important contributions school board members make to their communities.

The men and women serving Fort Gibson Public Schools are: Jere Gibson, president (31 years on the board); Larry Sand, vice president (12 years on the board); Scott Abbott, clerk (13 years on the board);  Gerald Taylor, member (21 years on the board); and  Darren Kilpatrick, member (four years on the board).