, Muskogee, OK

January 18, 2014

Reception to honor MPS board members

— January is National School Board Recognition Month, and Muskogee Public Schools will honor its board’s members with a reception.

The reception will be at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Professional Development Center, 208 W. Broadway.

The public is invited. This is a great opportunity to meet Muskogee Public Schools Board members. The regular school board meeting begins at 6 p.m.    

At Muskogee Public Schools, school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues affecting the entire community. They bear responsibility for making decisions for a district that has an annual budget of $ 77.8 million, 6,217 students, 826 employees and 43 buildings.

The school board members are President Muriel Saunders, Vice President Larry Leatherman, Clerk John Barton, Keith Biglow and Mike Ebert.