February 11, 2014

School board races produce two runoffs

February 11, 2014 By E.I. Hillin Phoenix Staff Writer

Most area school board races were decided by voters Tuesday night, but two districts will have to be settled with runoffs.

Duane Hunt Jr. defeated Cody Sloan by a wide margin, 197, or 71.9 percent to 77, or 28.1 percent to win the Office 2 seat in Gore.

This will be Hunt’s first term on the board. He said the unification between school and community is important.

“I’m just excited to be able to serve Gore schools and be a part of it,” Hunt said. “I’m excited to try to be an asset to the school and the community.”

In other races:

• Kathy Ritchie will serve a second term on the school board in Hulbert, Office 4. Ritchie defeated Trent L. Bowlin by a slight margin, with 90 votes, or 57 percent to 68 votes, or 43 percent. Ritchie was appointed to her first term, and this was her first time to draw an opponent.

“I think it’s an opportunity to be of service to my community and students,” Ritchie said. “I hope I can make some good decisions for the next few years to come.”

• Rachel Lynn McAlvain defeated Juanita Keener in a close race for the Hulbert, unexpired term for Office 2. The final totals came in at 85 votes, or 53.1 percent for McAlvain and for Keener, 75 votes, or 46.9 percent.

• Radean Foreman won the Office 4 spot in Keys by defeating Rick Patrick and Julie Smith. Foreman received 185 votes, or 52 percent; Patrick won 113 votes, or 31.7 percent; and Smith received 58 votes, or 16.3 percent.

• In the Haskell race for Office 4, a runoff will determine the winner. Sherry Brashear won 83 votes, or 40.9 percent; Brian Lewis, 73 votes, or 36 percent; Terence Golla, 47 votes, or 23.1 percent. Brashear and Lewis will square off in the runoff April 1.

• The Briggs Office 1 race results also will go to a runoff. Shannon Robertson garnered 74 votes, or 40.2 percent; Annette Long-Stinnett won 56 votes, or 30.4 percent; Deretha Dawes landed 54 votes, or 29.4 percent. The race between Long-Stinnett and Robertson will be determined in a runoff April 1.

Reach E.I. Hillin at (918) 684-2926 or ehillin@muskogeephoenix.com.

What’s next

An April 1 runoff will determine who will win school board seats in Haskell and Briggs.

Text Only