, Muskogee, OK

Local News

June 15, 2013

Meeting – Muskogee Board of Education

WHAT: Muskogee Board of Education regular meeting.

WHEN: 6 p.m. Tuesday.

WHERE: Board of Education Service & Technology Center, 202 W. Broadway.


• Public comments.                                                                    

• Superintendent’s Report.

    • Painting donation by Raymond Nordwall, Class of 1983.

   • Child Nutrition Report.

• Reports/comments from board members.


• Approval for academic credit for ICTC Algebra II and Geometry.

• Approval for trip for Sadler seventh- and eighth-grade students to Washington, D.C., in May 2014.



Upon return from executive session consider:

• Reappointment of the certified administrative staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

Melony Carey, Suzanne Orton, David Walkingstick, Heather Jones, Joyce Weston, Debbie Winburn, Vickie Albin, Dewayne Pemberton, Kim Fleak, Rick Hoos, Larry Sholes, P. David Shouse, Malinda Lindsey, Ed Wallace, Ronia Davison, Jim Wilson, Alton Lusk, Bonito Gay, Sonya Humphrey, Kevin Carey, Brian Doerner, Madison Tomlinson, Dr. Justin Walker, Bobby Jefferson, Harold “Rusty” Harris, Josh Blankenship, Joshua Berry, Cheryl Hallum, Dan Hattaway, Tonya Cox, Tanya Jones, Clevetta Gray, Jerry Huffer.

• Reappointment of salaried support staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

Mika Barton, Karah Lehman, Bobby Brewster, Joe Byfield, Carla Cooper, John Cooper, Curtis Forbes, Martha Brians, Dan Hall, Bob Holton, Wayne Johnson, John Little, Kim Hall, Jaime Speligene, Dessa Miller, Doug Ragsdale, Bill Parris, Ronald Remer, Ginger Saunders, Kathy Seabolt, Jeff Zarnke, Aaron Torix, Michael Zubek.

• Resignation of the certified staff for the 2012-2013 school year:

   • Sara Hyde, math teacher, Alice Robertson Junior High, effective May 20, 2013.

     • Heather Cherry, fifth-grade teacher, Pershing , effective June 30, 2013.

     • Shelly Parker, math, Muskogee High School, effective June 11, 2013.

     • Harland Warrior, science, MHS, effective June 12, 2013.

• Non-acceptance of position of the certified staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

   • Bryan Young, math teacher, ARJH, effective June 11, 2013.

• Employment of the certified staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

   • Edith Louise Raigoza, kindergarten teacher, Harris-Jobe, effective Aug. 12, 2013.

   • Bill Newlin, special education teacher, ARJH, effective Aug. 12, 2013.

• Temporary employment of the certified staff for the 2013-2014 school year, all effective Aug. 12:

     • Rebecca Austin, first-grade teacher, BFSA.

     • Kathy Hardcastle, third-grade teacher, BFSA.

     • Jamie Monson, sixth-grade teacher, BFSA.

     • Sarah Bright, third-grade teacher, Cherokee.

     • Kari Wall, first-grade teacher, Creek.

     • Pamela Bunkley, kindergarten, Grant Foreman.

     • Sally Denton, third-grade teacher, Grant Foreman.

     • Andrea Fletcher, first-grade teacher, Grant Foreman.

     • Nichole Laymon, fourth-grade teacher, Grant Foreman.

    • Andrea Spencer, kindergarten teacher, Grant Foreman.

    • Kelli Chambers, fifth-grade teacher, Harris-Jobe.

    • Heather Miller, sixth-grade teacher, Harris-Jobe.

    • Devin Basinger, first-grade teacher, Pershing.

    • Stephen Hurlbut, fifth-grade teacher, Pershing.

    • Natasha McIntosh, kindergarten teacher, Pershing.

    • Sarah Sparks, first-grade teacher, Pershing.

    • Alicia Sloat, third-grade teacher, Sadler.

    • Jill Dotson, first-grade teacher, Tony Goetz.

    • Richard Henson, third-grade teacher, Whittier.

    • Cynthia Metzger, first-grade teacher, Whittier.

    • Zach DeWoody, English/social studies, ARJH.

     • John Graham, eighth-grade English teacher, ARJH.

     • Candis Goodknight, reading teacher, ARJH.

     • Debbie Thompson, math teacher, ARJH.

     • Brenda Gilmore, special education teacher, MHS.

     • Gia Morse, math teacher, MHS.

     • Valarie Willis, fifth-grade, Pershing.

    • Barbara Leonard, third-grade, Creek.

    • Desaree Hood, speech path, Creek/Irving.

    • Scott Hirsch, speech/lang path, Sadler/ARJH.

    • Heather Butler, mild/mod spec. ed, Whittier.

    • Resignation of the support staff for the 2012-2013 school year:

    • Susan Clark – principal/finance secretary, ARJH, effective June 7, 2013.

    • Jeffrey Zarnke, delivery/supply handler, CNS Warehouse, effective June 17, 2013.

    • Temporary summer employment of the support staff for the 2012-2013 school year:

    • Mea Anderson, central enrollment clerk, BEST Center, AS NEEDED ONLY, effective June 11, 2013.

   • Employment of the support staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

   • Anthony Wilson, custodian, BFSA, effective July 1, 2013.

    • Amber Griffith, 6hr School’s Out assistant caregiver, ECC, effective Aug. 8, 2013.

    • Stephanie Miller, 7hr School’s Out assistant caregiver, ECC, effective Aug. 8, 2013.

    • Vernita Wallace, 6hr office assistant, ECC, effective Aug. 8, 2013.

     • Darla Ford, 8hr office assistant, ARJH, effective Aug. 8, 2013.

    • Resignation of the administrative staff for the 2012-2013 school year:

    • Dr. Edwin Strickland, principal, ARJH, effective June 25, 2013.

   • Employment of administrative staff for the 2013-2014 school year:

    • Peggy Jones, principal, ARJH, effective July 15, 2013.

Text Only
Local News
AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

     View Results
Featured Ads

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.