, Muskogee, OK

December 5, 2012

School board elections heat up

Races develop across area districts

By Cathy Spaulding
Phoenix Staff Writer

— Three candidates are seeking a seat on the Hilldale Board of Education, according to the Muskogee County Election Board.

School board races have developed in Braggs, Fort Gibson, Haskell, Woodall, Wagoner, Keys, Vian and Midway.

Filing for area school board offices ended Wednesday.

Hilldale candidates Szabi Szabo, Derek A. Nunn and Chris F. Pantle are seeking the Office 3 seat being left open by Jeff Sanders. Sanders did not file for a second term on the board.

In Fort Gibson, incumbent Office 3 holder Gerald Taylor faces a challenge from Eric Tuck. Darren Kilpatrick is running unopposed for a four-year unexpired term for Fort Gibson Office 5.

Incumbent Keys Office 3 board member J.C. Ballew faces a challenge from Barbara Smith, Mike Harper, Brad Davenport and Beth Bailey.

Muskogee Office 3 board member Keith Biglow drew no opponent.

In Haskell, Lewis Gonzales faces Dewayne Brown.

Woodall incumbent Tony Delmedico drew a challenge from Gary Hawkins.

In Midway, Bruce Reed, who was appointed in September for Office 1, faces a challenge from Vaughn Miller and Michael Ray for a three-year unexpired term.

The positions will be filled in the annual school elections Feb. 12. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the total votes in this election, the two candidates with the most votes will meet in an election April 2.

Offices for which declarations of candidacy have been filed:    


• Muskogee  — Office 3, five-year term. Keith D. Biglow.

• Braggs  — Office 3, five-year term. Jeff Ward, Samantha Hubler King.

• Fort Gibson — Office 3, five-year term. Gerald Taylor, Eric Tuck; Office 5, four-year unexpired term. Darren Kilpatrick.

• Haskell  — Office 3, five-year term. Lewis Gonzales, Dewayne Brown.

• Hilldale — Office 3, five-year term, Szabi Szabo, Derek A. Nunn, Chris F. Pantle.

• Oktaha  — Office 3, five-year term. Jimmy Eller.

• Porum  — Office 3, five-year term. Raymond Simeroth; Office 5, two-year unexpired term. Stuart Jack Morton.

• Wainwright  — Office 3, five-year term. Chris Brown.

• Warner  — Office 3, five-year term. Dale Wiggins.

• Webbers Falls — Office 3, five-year term. Larry Stephens, Jr.

• Indian Capital Technology Center — Office 5, five-year term. Roger Sharp.


• Norwood — Seat 1, five-year term. Ricky Moore.

• Woodall — Office 3, five-year term. Tony Delmedico, Gary Hawkins.

• Tenkiller — Office 1, five year term. Darrell Matthews.

• Hulbert — Office 3, five-year term, Matt Merdith; Office 1, unexpired five-year term, Curtis Medlin.

• Tahlequah  — Office 3, five-year term, Sharon Ballew.

• Keys — Office 3, five-year term. Barbara Smith, Mike Harper, J.C. Ballew, Brad Davenport, Beth Bailey.


• Okay — Office 2, four-year unexpired term. Tony Hopkins; Office 3, five-year term, Orbery Burk.

• Porter Consolidated — Office 3, five-year term. Gary Walker.

• Wagoner — Office 3, five-year term. Corey Brown, Doris. L Noetzol.


• Eufaula — Office 3, five-year term. Margaret Dobbs.

• Midway — Office 1, three-year unexpired term. Bruce Reed, Vaughn Miller, Michael Ray. Office 3, five-year term. Billy Miller.

• Stidham — Office 2, three-year term. Danny S. McGuire.

• Checotah — Office 3, five-year-term. Marcus Burkhalter.


• Vian — Office 1, three-year unexpired term. Gary Seay, Jessie Marie Young; Office 3, five year term, Theron Croisant.

• Gore — Office 5, two-year unexpired term. Richard Smith.

Reach Cathy Spaulding at (918) 684-2928 or cspaulding@muskogee