, Muskogee, OK

Local News

April 3, 2013

Oktaha voters OK $1.8M bond

Laymon Braggs trustee; Ray on Midway school board; Porum to seat top three in trustee race

BOYNTON — Muskogee County voters passed a school bond, elected trustees in two towns and elected a school board member in Tuesday’s elections.

Oktaha voters passed a $1.8 million bond in Tuesday’s election. Of 232 votes, 213, or 91.8 percent said yes, and 19, or 8.2 percent, said no to the bond issue.

The bond will raise property taxes $2 for every $100 the taxpayer in the district paid last year, officials said.

Superintendent Jerry Needham said he’s delighted with the voters’ decision.

“You feel very humbled and proud to be able to work at a school such as Oktaha with the amount of support it has,” Needham said. “That’s 92 percent of the vote, which is overwhelming, and we’ll do our best to live up to the expectations.”

The bond issue will provide funds to build a gymnasium for elementary students and six new high school classrooms.

In Braggs, voters chose Johnathan Laymon to continue as a trustee with 18 votes, or 56.2 percent. Challenger David Dotson received 14, or 43.8, percent of the vote.

Midway Public Schools district’s voters chose Michael Ray over incumbent Bruce Reed in the runoff election by a narrow margin to take Office No. 1 on the school board.

Ray received 136 votes, or 50.6 percent, and Reed took 133 votes, or 49.4 percent.

Ray said he has four children attending Midway schools, and he is a third-generation graduate.

Porum Board of Trustees incumbent Peggy Ann Cravens took the most votes of the eight people who ran for one of three at-large trustee seats. Cravens took 35 votes, or 19.4 percent, of the vote.

New board members are Trisha McCarn, who took 27 votes, or 15 percent, and Carl Warren, who took 24 votes, or 13.3 percent.

McCarn and Warren both said before the election they hope to bring Porum back to the “vibrant town” it was in its heyday by encouraging new business growth and town events to attract visitors.

Incumbent Ron Lakeman lost his seat, taking 23 votes, or 12.8 percent. Incumbent Don Dill also lost his seat, taking 20 votes or 11.1 percent.

Candidate Martha Long took 23 votes, or 12.8 percent; Ray Dill took 15 votes, or 8.3 percent; and Dian Nicholson took 13 votes, or 7.2 percent.

Reach Wendy Burton at (918) 684-2926 or

Text Only
Local News
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

     View Results
Featured Ads

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.