, Muskogee, OK

Local News

April 7, 2009

Provisional ballots may decide race

Provisional ballots handed to five voters in Tuesday’s Webbers Falls municipal election may decide the outcome of the election, said Ellen Thames, assistant secretary of the Muskogee County Election Board.

The sealed provisional ballots will not be counted until 5 p.m. Friday, Thames said.

The ballots were given to voters whose addresses showed up on poll books as being outside the town limits. Thames said the Election Board is converting to new software, and she is certain all five ballots will be counted after the voters’ addresses are verified as being in the town.

Jessica Terrell, who said her mother, her husband and a sister all live on the same 10 acres as her got to vote without question Tuesday, but she had to sign one of the provisional ballots.

She said she had moved since the last election and not changed her address.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Friday to file for a recount or allege election irregularities, Thames said. The provisional ballot count will be made after that deadline is passed.

Thames said while the remainder of the courthouse and annex will be closed because of the Good Friday holiday, the Election Board will remain open all day Friday. Entry may be made through the west door on Broadway.

Here are the results from Tuesday’s voting throughout the area:

• Braggs School Board — Barbara Baskins 154 (52.2 percent); Elsa Irving 141 (47.8 percent).

• Fort Gibson — Trustee Ward 2: Steven D. Hill 122 (67.4 percent); Kirk Freeman 59 (31.6 percent).

• Haskell — Trustee Ward II, Steve Ford 88 (69.84 percent), Brett L. Harper 38 (30.16 percent); Trustee Ward 1, Bruce McQuay 75 (61.48 percent), Robert C. Smith 47 (38.52 percent).

• Taft — Town Clerk: Alicia Craig Sourie 45 (56.25 percent), Elsie Ceasar 35 (43.75 percent).

• Warner — Two trustees: Jimmy D. Sallee 98 (36.03 percent), Jack Tatum 98 (36.03 percent), Troy Duncan 76 (27.94 percent).

• Webbers Falls — City clerk/treasurer: Susan Dwyer 101 (58.72 percent), Mindy M. Whitlow 71 (41.28 percent); Ward 2, trustee: Matt Myers 60, (34.68 percent), Eric Stinnett 58 (33.53 percent), Danielle Chappell 30 (17.34 percent), Arthur T. Laidley 24 (13.87 percent), Roy T. Brown 1 (0.58 percent); Ward 4 incumbent: Dennis Berton 89 (52.05 percent), Johnny Pollard 70 (40.94 percent), Cheryle Ellis 12 (7.01 percent).

Text Only
Local News
AP Video
UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Native American Teens Get Taste of College Legendary Actor James Garner Dies Ukraine Rebels: Black Boxes Will Be Returned Recording May Show Attempt at Crash Cover-up

Should a federal judge have the power to strike down Oklahoma's ban on gay marriage?

     View Results
Featured Ads

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.