, Muskogee, OK

November 19, 2012

Student, teacher award nominations sought

Honors to be presented by Foundation for Excellence

— The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, a nonprofit organization, is seeking nominations for its 2013 Academic All-State Scholarships and Medal for Excellence Awards, the foundation says in a media release.

Scholarships and educator awards totaling $125,000 will be presented at the foundation’s annual Academic Awards Banquet in May.

Academic Awards Program nomination forms are available on the foundation’s website at

Nominations are being accepted in the following categories:

• Academic All-State, which honors 100 public high school seniors with a $1,000 scholarship.

Students must be nominated by their superintendents or principals. Schools are encouraged to nominate all eligible students.

To qualify, students must meet at least one of the following requirements: a composite ACT score of at least 30; a combined SAT critical reading and math score of at least 1340; or be selected as a semi-finalist for a National Merit, National Achievement or National Hispanic Scholarship.

Academic All-State nominations must be postmarked on or before Nov. 30.

• The Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Elementary/Secondary Teaching and Administration, which honors three educators (a public school elementary teacher, a secondary teacher, and an elementary/secondary administrator) with $5,000 cash awards and glass sculptures.

• The Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Teaching at a Regional University or Community College, which honors an outstanding teacher at a public regional university or community college with a $5,000 cash prize and glass sculpture.

• The Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Teaching at a Research University. A $5,000 cash award and glass sculpture will be awarded to one educator at a public research university.

Anyone may nominate an educator for a Medal for Excellence Award.

All Medal for Excellence nominations must be postmarked on or before Nov. 27.

Scholarship and award recipients are chosen by an independent selection committee comprised of business, education and civic leaders, as well as former All-Staters and Medal for Excellence winners.

Information: or call (405) 236-0006.