, Muskogee, OK

September 25, 2013

Leadership Connors shapes staff leaders at the college

— Leadership Connors, a year-long program at Connors State College, held its first meeting this week, a media release states.

Now in its second year, the program is designed to enhance the leadership abilities and knowledge of selected Connors employees.

“We had quite a few applicants this year,” said Ryan Blanton, program director. “We selected 10, highly-qualified individuals into this year’s program.”

Leadership Connors allows Connors employees to meet and learn from many community leaders. The group is scheduled to hear from chief executive officers, state senators and representatives.  The initial class was addressed by Connors State College’s president, Dr. Tim Faltyn.

Faltyn talked to the group about the honor of participating in the program as well as the difference in being a good leader and an excellent leader.

“We have a lot of really great leaders on our campus,” Faltyn said. “The goal of this program is to develop their leadership skills and to introduce them to other key leaders in our area.”

Leadership Connors meets monthly and allows the participants to interact with a different state and/or community leader each time.

“I appreciated that Dr. Faltyn was so candid with us,” said participant and Connors instructor, Dr. Gary Grady. “We were able to interact with him and learn from him on a level that isn’t possible on a day-to-day basis. I believe this program will offer us the same opportunities with each of our speakers.”

This year’s class participants are:

Dr. Gary Grady, Psychology instructor.

Angie Lane, bursar.

Spencer Nero, Recruitment.

Robin O’Quinn, chair, Communication, Fine Arts, Development Education and Connors Success Centers.

Stacy Pearce, Creative Services, Public Relations and Marketing.

Lynette Rock, chair, Mathematics, Science and Physical Education.

Karen Seabolt, Accounts Payable director.

Baxter Stewart, Financial Aid director.

Teresa Williams, Human Resources.

Lisa Wade, director, Muskogee Difference, Wellness and Outreach.