, Muskogee, OK


October 7, 2012

Missouri driver misses collision for T-Bird victory

— On a chilly and windy afternoon at Muskogee’s historic Thunderbird Speedway, the auto racing was hot as local drivers finished the regular season and the Mid America Racing Series showcased their talent in a 25-lap, $5,000 payout race.

The MARS series race, sponsored by Mark Martin Auto Group, was the showcase of the day as driver Terry Phillips took the lead on turn two and never looked back. The only thing that slowed Phillips down was a yellow caution flag on lap 23.

When the green flag waived again, Phillips dominated the remaining laps and took home the $5,000.

Jesse Stovall, winner of Friday night’s $3,000 prize, started in the middle of the 22-car field and drove furiously to the front but could not catch Phillips, who calls Springfield, Mo., home, and finished second followed by Justin Wells in third.

Regular racing and points championships were decided as well on Sunday.

In the Pure Stock A feature, Dustin Boston of Hulbert was the winner followed by Tyler Chambers from Welling and coming in third was Steve Freeman of Claremore. Muskogee’s own Ken Hughey finished as points champion in the division.

In what was the closest racing of the day, Stilwell’s Brian Parker took the lead on the last lap of the race and finished just ahead of James Gillean of Muskogee in the Sport Modified A feature.  Muskogee’s Kyle Slader finished a close third.

Parker also claimed the victory in the Super Stock A feature, leading start to finish.

In the Street Stock A feature, Dale Richardson of Muskogee assumed the lead coming out of turn 2 and held off a furious charge by Okay native Dalton Ragsdale who finished second and Hilldale grad Cory Carter came in a close third.  The Modified A feature saw Johnny Bone, Jr. of Pea Ridge, Ark., jump out to the lead as he held off Fayetteville, Ark., native  Brian Williams.

The Street Stock points title was won by Carter. In the Modified division, Fort Gibson's Brett Hansen was the winner while Morris' Ryan Franklin and Muskogee's Ron Yates tied for the points championship in 360 Modified class.

Text Only