, Muskogee, OK

February 8, 2013

Area briefs

Phoenix wire reports

Title committee structure shaping

DALLAS — The BCS commissioners got closer to determining who will select the teams for the impending  four-year playoff following their latest meeting Thursday at the Grand Hyatt Regency Dallas-Fort Worth.

BCS executive director Bill Hancock said the selection committee would consist of between 14-20 members, including at least one individual representing each of the 10 FBS conferences.

In the playoff, the top four ranked teams -- as determined by the selection committee -- will meet in the semifinals. After those four teams are selected, the league champion or top available team from the Pac-12 and Big Ten will play in the Rose Bowl presented by Vizio, SEC and Big 12 teams in the Allstate Sugar Bowl and ACC in the Discover Orange Bowl.

The commissioners next meet April 23-25 in Pasadena, Calif., where they are expected to officially announce Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas — the current site of the Cotton Bowl -- as the location of the first title game on Jan. 12, 2015.

Westbrook on ‘Shooting Stars’

Two teams representing the Western Conference and two teams representing the Eastern Conference from both the NBA and WNBA will compete in the 2013 Sears Shooting Stars as part of All-Star Saturday Night on Saturday, Feb. 16 at the Toyota Center in Houston

Among those representing the Western Conference of the NBA are Russell Westbrook and his former Oklahoma City Thunder teammate James Harden, now a member of the Houston Rockets. Both are also on the West roster for the NBA All-Star Game.

The WNBA stars for the West are Maya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx, a 2012 Olympic gold medal winner and 2011 WNBA champion, and the Seattle Storm’s Tina Thompson, the WNBA all-time leading scorer. NBA Legends Sam Cassell and Robert Horry, who played a combined 31 seasons in the league and won 10 NBA championships, round out the West representation. Cassell and Horry were teammates on a Rockets team that won back-to-back titles in 1994-95.   

On behalf of the Eastern Conference from the NBA are Chris Bosh, of the reigning NBA champion Miami Heat, and fellow All-Star Brook Lopez of the Brooklyn Nets. The WNBA Eastern Conference stars are Swin Cash of the Chicago Sky, a three-time WNBA champion, and Tamika Catchings, who guided the Indiana Fever to the 2012 WNBA title and earned Finals MVP honors. The NBA Legends on the East squads are Muggsy Bogues, the shortest player in NBA history at 5-3, and Hall of Famer Dominique Wilkins, a nine-time NBA All-Star.

Tulsa sets spring football slate

The University of Tulsa will begin 2012 spring drills with seven practice sessions before spring break and eight of the allowed 15 days of spring practice following the week break. The Hurricane will take the field on March 5 for the first time this spring.  Tulsa’s practice sessions will normally take place Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays during the spring, but one Wednesday practice is scheduled before spring break. Tulsa’s final practice before spring break will be on March 14.

After spring break, Tulsa returns to the practice field on March 26 for the first of the final eight practice sessions of the spring season. The spring game will take place April 6 at a time yet to be determined.

Tulsa will return 11 starters in 2013, including eight on offense and three on defense, from a team that finished the 2012 campaign with an overall 11-3 record, Conference USA Champions and winners of the 54th Annual AutoZone Liberty Bowl with a 31-17 victory over Iowa State.