, Muskogee, OK

July 7, 2013

Four of seven increase lead in points at Outlaw

By Ronn Rowland
Phoenix staff report

— While only one of the seven points leaders at Outlaw Motorsports Park won a feature race on Saturday, four of the seven were able to increase their advantage in the standings.

Jarrett Arnold of Morris entered the night with a 33-point lead in the Factory Stock class over Cory Carter of Muskogee, who did not make the feature, added 100 points to his advantage with his victory in the feature over Justin Green of Sapulpa. Muskogee’s Mike Wiseman, who entered the race third in points, finished sixth in the feature with Joe Kelly of Porter, Henryetta’s Rikki Scott and Ryan Yates of Muskogee sandwiched between Green and Wiseman for third through fifth, respectively.

Ken Hughey of Muskogee, who had the largest lead in any of the classes at 269 points, saw his lead in the Pure Stock standings trimmed when Tyler Chambers of Welling, who is second in the standings, won the feature, breaking a three-feature win streak of Wesley Taylor of Eufaula, who finished second. Ryan Waltman of Fort Gibson, Bobby Hunter of Haileyville and Tyler Cochran of Chouteau rounded out the top five while Hughey finished 12th.

Okay’s Andy Morris, the Outlaw Modified leader, came up short in the feature, finishing second to Tate Cole of Fort Gibson, but increased his lead in the standings over Muskogee’s Heath Weston because of Weston’s 11th-place finish. Colby Artherton of Bartlesville, Greg Burt of Enid and Troy Gemmill of Ponca City completed the top five.

In the Pro Stock feature, Muskogee’s Dan Leatherman finished behind Mike Withrow of Muskogee and Roy Long of Stilwell for third place but still put some distance between himself and David Whittle of Muskogee when Whittle came in ninth in the feature. Spots four and five went to Nick Artherton of Bartlesville and David Vinson of Warner.

Sports Mods leader Gary Dilbeck of Catoosa finished fifth in the feature while Caleb Edwards of South Coffeyville, No. 2 in the standings, captured the race with Checotah’s Daniel Tarkington, Tahlequah’s Tony Quinton and Craig Demuth of Pawhuska claiming spots 2-4.

Jason Sperry of Porter increased his lead in the Late Model class with a fifth-place finish in the feature as none of his four closest pursuers made the feature. Shannon Scott of Henryetta race with Ted Holt of Porter, Clay Julian of Ozark, Ark., and Ray Peacock of Alma, Ark., taking the top 4 sports, respectively.

Kregg Dobson of Hulbert, the IMCA Modified leader, now has a fight on his hands for the points race after finishing 20th in the feature. Danny Womack of Bixby, who trailed Dobson by 45 points heading into Saturday’s action, finished fourth in the feature and picked up 33 points on Dobson. Shannon Reheard of Muskogee won the feature with Brenden Gemmill of Ponca City, Edwards, Van Gemmill of Ponca City completing the top five.