, Muskogee, OK


January 19, 2013

Northeastern State lineman named All-American

TAHLEQUAH — Michael Bowie was only in Tahlequah for five months. That was long enough to land him national recognition.

Bowie, a left tackle for Northeastern State in 2012, was an honorable mention selection on the’s All-American team. Bowie becomes the sixth NSU football player to be named a All-American, following Trey McVay (2011), Nate Robinson (2010), Joe Kok (2009), Terry Grayson (2003, 2004) and Micah Lomas (2001, 2002).

“My first reaction was I was honored and excited to be named one of the nation’s top players,” Bowie told the Tahlequah Daily Press, after finding out the news on Thursday.

“Being an All-American to me means a lot because I put in so much work and played with a bunch of effort to ensure that I was successful on the field.”

For the RiverHawks in 2012, Bowie – who left Oklahoma State to transfer to NSU in August – never gave up a sack while recording 47 knockdowns.

Bowie was also named to the All-MIAA Second Team in November.

“This All-American honor for Michael is a reflection of his talent, and a reflection of him buying into what we’re doing here,” NSU offensive line coach Mike Barela said. “He is more than deserving of this award, and I couldn’t be happier for him.”

Bowie was far from the only MIAA player to pick up All-American honors from In fact, the league hauled two of the website’s top honors.

Missouri Western running back Michael Hill was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Missouri Southern defensive tackle Brandon Williams was deemed the Defensive Player of the Year. Emporia State tight end Adam Shiltz was also named a First Team All-American.

Also from the MIAA on the second team was Missouri Western’s David Bass (DL) and Ben Pister (DL), Pittsburg State’s Nate Dreiling (LB) and John Brown (WR) and Lindenwood’s Pierre Desir (DB).

Up next for Bowie is the Raycom College Football All-Star Classic today. The game will begin at 2 p.m. at the Crampton Bowl in Montgomery, Ala.

Bowie will play on the Stars team, coached by Jim Bates, a 17-year NFL coaching veteran.

Other players from the state playing in the All-Star Classic will be Tulsa’s Trent Dupy, Oklahoma State’s Jonathan Rush and Nigel Nicholas and Oklahoma’s Jamarkus McFarland.

Text Only