, Muskogee, OK


March 30, 2014

2013-14 ALL-PHOENIX BASKETBALL TEAMS: MHS, FGHS front the season’s best


Rest of the boys

Okay freshman Darius Riggs is the Newcomer of the Year, having averaged 21 points for the Mustangs. Oktaha’s Dustin Leach, Haskell’s Alex Wheeland and Muskogee’s Tramal Ivy were repeat selections as was London. Caisen Green of Sequoyah’s 19.1 scoring average helped him finish as a close runner-up in the MVP balloting. Green helped the Indians to a second consecutive Class 3A semifinal round.

Rounding out the team is Muskogee’s David Beasley, the second Rougher off a late-charging 6A quarterfinalist, Fort Gibson’s Coleman Crawley, Braggs’ Payton York, Hulbert’s Mason Fielden, Eufaula’s Devon Siers and Checotah’s DeShawn Jackson.

Girls’ group

The 4A champions from Fort Gibson had the most selections to the team with Savannah Gray and Allie Glover making it for a second straight year. Joining them was a move-in from Tahlequah, Desiree Phipps, who was runner-up to Wilson in the MVP balloting. Hilldale’s Katie Kirkhart, last year’s Newcomer of the Year, returned to the team as did Oktaha’s Jaylie Roper, despite being plagued by injury part of the season. It was the third time on the team for Roper and Glover, the latter being the 2011-12 Newcomer. Gray made it last year.

Replacing Kirkhart as Newcomer was teammate Kenzie Mize from  a Lady Hornets team that for the first time in school history came with a game of a state tournament trip under Scott Hensley, who was third in the coach voting.

Audrey Ballou of 3A quarterfinalist Sequoyah, Vian’s Nese Walters, Haskell’s DeNora Wheeland and Hulbert’s Tiffany Thompson all made the team.

Voting on players was done by members of the Phoenix staff, correspondents and coaches. Staff and correspondents voted for the season's top coaches.


MVP: Jordan London, Fort Gibson,

6-0, Jr., G*

Averaged 16 points, 9 rebounds, 7 assists

Text Only