, Muskogee, OK

September 24, 2013

Six to be inducted into MHS Hall of Fame

Phoenix staff report

— Friday night, three members of Muskogee High School’s 1953 and 1954 state football championship teams, along with a state champion golfer, a high school All-American basketball player and a state All-Star football player will be inducted into the Muskogee High School Hall of Fame during halftime of the football game between the Roughers and Broken Arrow.

The six are: Lyle and Lynn Burris and Joe Rector (posthumously), members to the ‘53 and ‘54 title teams, Joey Dills, Jerome Ledbetter and, Brian Rahilly .

The Burris brothers and Rector, all who graduated in 1955, were members of the 1953 and 1954 football teams that won the state championship. They all went on to play at Oklahoma and were members of the 1956 national championship squad. Rector passed away last June.

Dills graduated from Muskogee High School in 1970 after leading the Roughers to four state golf team championships and captured the individual state title in 1969. In 1968, Dills qualified for the U.S. Open as a 17-year old.

Ledbetter was a running back during his Roughers’ career, helping them to conference and district championships in his senior year. That year he was also selected as an All-Star. Ledbetter graduated in 1980.

Rahilly, a 1983 graduate, was a member of the Roughers’ basketball team and was named a high School All-American and earned a spot on Oklahoma Coaches Association All-State team his senior year and went on the play collegiately at Tulsa and where he helped the Golden Hurricane to three Missouri Valley Conference titles.