, Muskogee, OK


January 31, 2013

Bull Riders, Inc. put on a great Civic Center show

ll the dirt has now been removed from the Civic Center floor and the bulls and bull riders have returned home. If you didn’t go, it was a really good show. The Civic Center ended up being the perfect place to showcase the Bull Riders, Inc. National Finals.

Jesse Monroe earned the title of 2012 Bull Rider of the Year. Bust Like a Bubble, of the D Bar W Ranch, was 2012 Bull of the Year. Muskogee’s Bronson Butcher was Rookie of the Year and BRI Finals Average Champion. Bust Like A Bubble and Molly Hatchet tied for BRI Bull of the Finals. The average placings/points of the finals were Bronson Butcher 261, Dustin Hall 245, Venn Johns 161, Ryan Roberts 157, Zane Cook 154, Billy Phillips 88, Guthrie Murray 87, Wes Baker, Kyle Bell, Clay Gifford, and Kade Alberty at 82, Jesse Monroe 78, and Sterling Steele 75.

Funny man bull fighter Pork Chop was a hit with the crowd. He kept everyone cheering and really into the arena action. The bull poker was good too – I don’t see how they stayed in the chairs as long as they did. You can keep up with BRI action on their website, I sure hope they come back to Muskogee next year for their finals.

Rangeline Arena will be having team roping tonight, practice from 6-7:30 at $20 a horse, followed by a #12 slide jackpot, pick one draw two at $50 a roper. Saturday night they will have team roping practice from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at $20 per horse/rider, followed by a #10 roping with a #8 Incentive, pick one draw one at $40 a roper, enter up to five times, capped at #6. For more information on Rangeline or its events contact Rick Hubler at  (918) 557-9951.

Barton Arena Productions were at the Double D Arena in Poteau last Saturday. The Maynard Buckle winners were Chad Lucas for high money header and Fred Jones for high money heeler. First place went to Chad Lucas and Cody Camerer, second to Larry James and Fred Jones, Brandon Kiefer and Justin Pugh were third, Steve Black and Donnie Ward were fourth, and Tyler and Clint Crawford were fifth. The Incentive was won by Kevin Favre and Fred Jones, then Tyler and Clint Crawford took second.

Sean Willingham rode Rockie Smooth for 87 points to take the event title at the Professional Bull Riders event in Oklahoma City this weekend. In the championship round, Bushwacker set the all-time PBR mark for consecutive buckoffs at 36. Kent Cox, who hauls and handles Bushwacker, was afraid that the bull would be a little rusty after being off three months due to his horn surgery. He was anything but rusty. Shane Proctor (last week’s Winston-Salem, NC, event winner) only lasted 2.48 seconds on Bushwacker, who scored 46 bull points. Proctor now sits second in the world standings, one spot behind Silvano Alves and one ahead of J.B. Mauney. Bushwacker has now been the high marked bull 37 times at Built Ford Tough Series events.

The Sooner Barrel Racing Association awards banquet and business meeting went very well. The schedule will be out shortly. There are several rule changes. The main changes are that points will be determined by fastest time rather than fastest nominated run and they will begin at 50 rather than 25 for first place in each division in the open class. There were several other minor rule changes. The updated rules will be posted shortly. 2013 SBRA officers are: Patrick McCormick, president; Deeana Vaughn, vice president; Janet Goodson, secretary/treasurer; Rhonda Stewart, points secretary; Kathy Sontac, arena director' Tammy Staub, work list, Christy Brandon, junior and peewee donations; and Larry Baker, open donations.

Farmers Almanac dates to trim manes and tails to promote growth: Feb. 12-13, 16-18, and 22.

Reach Rhonda Stewart with rodeo news or comments at or  (918) 869-1498.


Text Only