, Muskogee, OK


February 28, 2013

Rangeline winners revealed, and Bushwacker’s still the bull

First off, congrats to Saturday’s winners at Rangeline Arena. All-girl average winners were Michelle Black and Kelli Tully. The six-point average winners were Terry Warren and Blaze Bowden. The winners of the four-point incentive were Trenton Dill and Blaze Bowden. The 10-point average was won by Ethan James and Kevin Hutchins. The incentive winners for the 10-Point were Dalton Cole and Dalton McCoy.

On Saturday and Sunday Rangeline Arena will be hosting a Priefert World Series Qualifier. You can access a handbill with complete information on Rangeline Arena’s Facebook page in the photos section.

Barton Arena Productions will be at the Checotah Round-Up Club on Sunday, offering a prizes drawpot, #10 with a #8 incentive, enter one draw one for $40 or draw both, capped at 6E. There will be a required $5 prize fee. A trophy breast collar will be awarded to the high money winner. Additional prizes will be awarded, depending on turnout. Books will open at 1:30 and close at 2:30 p.m. For more information you can call Bart at (918) 616-9269.

 Sooner Barrel Racing Association kicks off its 2013 series at the Checotah Round-Up Club on Saturday with exhibitions at noon and jackpot at 2 p.m. For pre-entries text Kathy Sontag at (918) 237-9364. For more information go to

Fans at this week’s PBR event in Kansas City, Mo., turned out for the battle between Mike Lee and Bushwacker. Lee was bushwacked by Bushwacker. In the 15/15 Bucking Battle, the bull produced a ride that matched his Built Ford Tough Series personal best score of 48 (out of a possible 50). This was only the fourth time in the past nine years a bull has been marked 48 points or higher. Bushwacker now owns two of those four 48 or higher scores. Bushwacker was the Monster Bonus Bull and it would have paid a $57,000 bonus if Lee had ridden him.

 PBR leader Shane Proctor widened the gap between he and second-place Silvano Alves by 702.46 points, but Marco Eguchi has moved up to within 926.37 and was the event winner at Kansas City.

The PBR now goes to Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Saturday. The Dickies Iron Cowboy IV is a special event that matches bull riders against each other in a single-elimination format until one rider is left standing as the Iron Cowboy. The event was first presented in 2010 and drew more than 46,500 fans, breaking the PBR’s previous all-time attendance record. This year the deciding bracket will pit the winner of one side of the bracket against Asteroid and the winner of the other side of the bracket against Bushwacker. The winner of the challenge will face Shepherd Hills Tested.

 Keep the college rodeo teams in your prayers. They will be heading to Garden City, Kan. for a 3-day rodeo beginning Friday. This is about a 900-mile round-trip for the Bacone and Connors State College teams.

 Good luck wherever you compete this weekend – we will be at the Sooner at Checotah!

Reach Rhonda Stewart with rodeo news or comments at or (918) 869-1498.

Text Only