Some drivers called it the best opening night in three years. For new promoter Danny Womack, those remarks and a crowd of 2,000 filled the glass halfway.

After winning his Economy Modified heat race, Womack was involved in two wrecks in the division’s feature, the second of which forced him to the pits.

Womack, from Haskell, took over the promotion of the track from Gary Clay, who built and opened the facility five years ago.

Jake Kelley, a former track champion from Glenpool, won the 20-lap feature after early pace-setter Carl Conley of Porter, left the race after a caution for a spin-out. Not involved in the incident, Conley had apparent car problems.

Conley was setting a blistering pace until he left the race.

Kelly took the lead on lap 17 and beat the field to the finish line to win easily. Frank Foster of Springdale, Ark., one of the new drivers, was second with Shannon Weese of Van Buren, Ark., third.

Womack’s first mishap happened on lap four when his car backed into the back straight-away wall after being tapped from behind. He was involved in a lap 17 wreck with three other cars in turn four. He retired to the pits after that crash.

Dale Richardson ran a perfect race to win the Hobby Stock feature, pulling away from the pack for the victory. A green-white-checkered restart on the final lap failed to deter his efforts.

The Muskogee native took control of the 20-lap race from the pole on and was never really challenged from that point. Gaining a straight-away lead by lap six, the race then was for second place.

A trio of drivers held the position with two of them eventually forced out of the race with mechanical problems -— Spiro’s Brookin Stephens with a blown engine and Tim Sands of Muskogee with a flat tire. Kerney Weaver took second in a photo-finish over Rowdy Bonewell of Rudy, Ark

Brandi Levasseur of Tahlequah also starting up-front, won the Pure Stock feature, but her margin of victory was much closer than Richardson’s. Levassuer also won a heat race.

For the first eight laps, she battled Tahlequah's Jason Ward and John Strand of Evanville. Strand eventually finished second with Ward a close third.

The feature was red flagged after four laps when Oktaha's Randy Fairchild rolled his racer coming out of turn four. Fairchild exited the car — on its side — and appeared to be uninjured. He left the track under his own power.

After Fairchild’s mishap, there were three cautions that slowed he 15-lap race.

Greg Skaggs of Bixby won the Modified feature. Steve Holzkamper of Gentry, Ark., was second with Muskogee's Justin Fulton third.

Skaggs had an easy time to the checkered flag. He also was an easy winner of his heat race.

The 2008 points race begins Friday.

React to this story:


Recommended for you