Special to the Phoenix

Mike Withrow of Muskogee moved closer to winning his first division point championship, finishing fifth in the feature, won by Randy Frailey, Chouteau.

Withrow owns a 79-point lead (2,109-2,030) over Frailey with one week of points racing left in the season.

In Pure Stock, leader David Vinson of Oktaha, maintained his point lead over Tahlequah’s Jason Ward despite finishing well back in the field. His car was damaged in a lap-four accident with Muskogee’s Mike Bantaa.

James Gillian won the Pure Stock feature, his seventh of the season. Ward was second.

Vinson, remaining in the race despite front-end damage to his racer, finished 13th. He has a 68-point advantage over Ward (2,279-2,211).

In the Hobby Stock division, Tom Snyder is the leader over Muskogee’s Dale Richardson. The Okay driver put himself into the position to win with a second-place finish in the feature won by Hulbert’s Bobby Disheroon

Snyder leads Richardson, the defending champion, 2,153-2,080 (73 points).

Clay picked up 100 points with his feature win and five more for coming home first in his heat to finish with 2,216 points for the night. Whittle was third in his heat and credited with a 12th place finish in the feature for 68 points (2,205).

That means Clay owns an 11-point margin. Whittle went into the evening in front by 23 points.

Whittle, running just in front of Clay on lap seven, spun out in turn three with his car coming to rest in the groove. Matt McBride of Muskogee then slammed into the back quarter-panel of Whittle’s stalled racer. He retired to the infield and then to the pits.

Whittle attempted to come back onto the track with nine laps remaining, but officials disallowed that. Track technician Sam Bennett ruled his car had too much damage to the rear end.

As things turned out, Whittle would not have improved his 12th place position. When he left, 11 cars were still in the race. Those cars were still running when he tried to return and Whittle was seven laps down at that point.

In the meantime, Clay, Muskogee’s Charles Bumgarner, Glenpool’s Jake Kelley, and Haskell’s Danny Womack were involved in a four-car chase to the checkered flag. Bumgarner took the lead on a lap seven restart and led the next 12 laps with Kelley, Clay, and Womack hot on his bumper.

Kelley and Clay made contact on lap 10 with Clay moving to second and Womack third. From there, Clay chased Bumgarner until the two caught-up slower traffic.

Both did a tremendous job of driving to get around two slower cars in the final two laps. Clay, on the outside, and Bumgarner, on the inside of a slow race, darted out of turn two with Clay in the lead. He was able to hold off Bumgarner to his seventh feature win of the season.

As usual, Frailey made a mockery of the Modified feature, winning the 20-lap race by a straight-away over the field. Delaney Erickson, Tahlequah, was a distant second with Joe Duvall, Chelsea, and Roger Sawyer, Broken Arrow, finishing just in front of Withrow.

React to this story:


Recommended for you